Wow…Wow…Wow!

by Dr. Karen Oliveto, Pastor

BART encounters (#2): I am one of those people that starts the day wide awake and ready to go, and the earlier the better!  No caffeine is needed here! Once my feet hit the floor I am already headed towards the gym followed by a warm shower. Then I am ready to take on the world.

One morning, however, I was uncharacteristically tired before the day had even begun. I glumly made my way to BART, my head feeling in a fog.  Listless, I went through the motions of entering the station to board a train.

I wasn’t even aware of how far I had travelled on the train when I heard a small voice whispering emphatically, “Wow!…Wow!…Wow!”  The voice nudged me and I found myself more alert than I had been. What was it that was eliciting these wows?

The train stopped. “Wow!” the voice exclaimed.  The doors opened. “Wow!”  People entered. “Wow!”  The doors closed. “Wow” The train entered a tunnel. “Wow.”  Every stage of the trip was met with an exclamation of wonder.

This small child’s excitement was contagious. I found myself looking at the beauty of the diversity of people found on the train. Wow! I looked outside and could see the ocean. Wow!  I saw someone give up their seat to an elderly person. Wow!

This wonderment stayed with me as I walked to GLIDE. There was beauty in the most unlikely places. Coming into Glide, I saw with new eyes this amazing place and community.

The Spirit was made manifest for me that day in a small child, whose sense of awe helped me be surprised and amazed once again. The next time you come to GLIDE, take a good look at the remarkable collection of people who are present.

Wow!

Posted in Uncategorized
One comment on “Wow…Wow…Wow!
  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Benjamin, GLIDE. GLIDE said: GLIDE's Blog: Wow…Wow…Wow! http://bit.ly/gPdfBa […]

Leave a Reply

GLIDE Instagram
Joyce Hayes, celebrating life, love and GLIDE with @doricamino and @edenchanstreetscooper at the 2014 Holiday Jam. A retro photo of Joyce Hayes, a true GLIDE hero, who so strongly believed in supporting children and providing them with stability, education and #unconditionallove. GLIDE regrets to tell our community that Joyce Hayes, an icon in our history and childcare program, passed away on Tuesday, 5/23/2017. Her life, love and legacy will not be forgotten. 
Please take a moment to read this tribute to our beloved "Joy": glidesf.wordpress.com/2017/05/26/in-memory-of-joyce-hayes-the-heartbeat-of-glides-fycc/ Shout-out @blueshieldofca volunteers! Our Harm Reduction Team always needs people to help assemble safer injection kits. Distributing these kits to our community members who inject drugs greatly reduces the spread of Hep C and HIV. It's about #publichealth and recognizing the dignity and human rights of ALL people living in our city! #harmreduction #cleansharps

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 23,448 other followers

