One day at a time.

by GLIDE Staff

My younger brother is critically ill and may not survive.

I cannot control my brother’s recovery. He has a long way to go. He has excellent medical care and I know he can do it as he is strong and youthful. Yet, the steps are small and often two steps forward followed by one or two steps back.  On his good days, I feel light and hopeful. On the less good days, I start worrying. I worry, even though I cannot control or truly understand the next steps in his treatment. What if?  He’s remained strong and has already persisted longer than the doctors believed he could.  We know he can do it! Yet, I worry.
Others have suggested I take this one day at a time. It will make it easier, they say.  ‘Live one day at a time’ keeps echoing around my head.  What does this mean?  How can I start to live my life this way?  This is not my personality!  I like to live for three weeks at a time or three months at a time.  I am always in a hurry. I like the uniqueness that each day brings me, yet, I am always working towards something—losing weight, running a race, meeting the goals I set on January 1st.
I want to learn how to deal with the news of today as the news of today, no more, no less, to stop and remind myself of what’s important every day.
I’m happy to be working at GLIDE, more than ever during this difficult time.  GLIDE offers hope and acceptance of each person’s situation, no matter what it is.  One day at a time!

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

GLIDE Instagram
The SF Board of Supervisors Rocks! GLIDE sends a special shout-out to the SF Board of Supervisors President, @londonbreed, and our District 6 Supervisor, @supejanekim, for their swift response to our call to help. When a water pressure problem threatened GLIDE's ability to serve the 2000 meals needed daily by our community, these stellar Supervisors got the problem fixed overnight! Much love and gratitude to the SF Board of Supervisors for being great partners in serving our communities! #localgov #publicservice Henry with the GLIDE crew yesterday in #Sacramento, supporting the rights of immigrant families! #californiavalues #SB54 Susan Muse from GLIDE standing up for #immigrantrights  and #SB54 in Sacramento today. #nobannowall Advocacy Manager Ben Lintschinger with GLIDE member Curtis Bradford, advocating to pass #SB54 in Sacramento today! @glidesflegacy @angelabrown17 @tdubtx @theonj3 #nobannowall #nomassdeportations #immigrantrights

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 23,236 other followers

