Poetry Makes a Difference

 

poetry picture
Thirteen women. Different backgrounds. Different outlooks. Different lifestyles. But all in the same room, writing. Writing to tell a story. Through symbolism, art and passion came poems.

In conversation with Marvin K. White, GLIDE pastoral intern, he encouraged me to write more. Maybe “encourage” is not the appropriate word as there was a tone of expectancy. So I took his notion back to the Women’s Center and made this “write more” a community experience. I asked the ladies to identify an object of meaning, visually describe it and share a personal connection. Two drafts and one hour later, thirteen women had transcended the most ordinary of objects – through poetry.

My Lip gloss

Shiny and sparkly

like I know I am!

“Take that shit off

Before I smack it off,”

My parents would say.

I can’t go anywhere without

It like a curse!

Looking for my parents while

I look in my purse!

It makes me feel magical

Like my favorite Smack by Mac!

My Lip gloss.

-SG

Blood Jewel

Faceted hologram.

My mother’s red necklace

Is a vision through my soul.

Blood Jewel.

-Y.M.

Beans

Creamy, rich, heirloom beans.

The kind I loved most at Rainbow.

The California Food Movement has been good to me.

Creamy, rich, savory, spiced.

Beans.

-T

Pen

The feel of steel around the well of ink.

Ballpoint slides to the rhythm of life.

Pen.

-D

Poster

Golden with bright colors-

With sayings-

Courage, strength, wisdom.

Go through the Now-

With grace.

Poster.

-J.W.

Binder

White with an inspirational quote on the outside

And a mental health workbook inside.

For 9 months I carried it with me to treatment.

It held the key to my recovery.

Binder.

-N.W.

Candle Holder

Amber brown and soft glow.

Calming comfort and soothing soul.

Candle Holder.

-K

Picture(s)

Pieces of paper with color and print.

Memories shared.

Bonding as father and child.

Now a fatherless child

Remembering the memories shared.

Picture(s).

-R.W.

Yellow Bear

Big and stuffed.

Still and simple.

My protector.

My friend.

Yellow Bear.

-D

Bun-Bun

Intense, petite package.

A gift that healed

My wounded heart.

Bun-Bun.

-C

The Sun

Bright and yellow.

Warm and caressing.

I seek happiness

In the glow.

I am provided comfort.

The Sun.

-L.S.

Ivory Soap

A white bar of soap

perfectly curved and carved

Smelling of floral fragrance.

A white bar of soap

That washed my mouth.

A white bar of soap

That tasted of chemicals

And nothing nice.

Ivory Soap.

-BC

Bernadette, GLIDE Women's Center
Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized
GLIDE Instagram
A Tenderloin rooftop becomes a child's obstacle course during playtime @glidefycc ❤️🤸🏽‍♂️ original photo credit: @alainmclaughlin #GLIDEkids #affordablechildcare #youthdevelopment Where in the world is @thevernonbush? At #GLIDEChurch, singing and dancing in the aisles is always part of the Celebration! .
.
#WokeUpBlessed #sundaycelebration #GLIDEensemble #gospelmusic #SundayMorning with the #GLIDEEnsemble & @thevernonbush! .
.
#WokeUpBlessed #gospelmusic #sundaycelebration #GLIDEChurch Artist Kate Haug talks about her #SummerOfLove poster series for SF's bus shelters--and one very hip poster in particular, featuring Janice Mirikitani & Rev. Cecil Williams! Read more about her project:
.
glidesf.wordpress.com/2017/07/07/bus-stop-in-the-name-of-love/
.
#SFhistory #groovy #JoanBaez #BobbySeale
.
@tenderloinmuseum @sf_arts_commission @californiahistoricalsociety @ybca @deyoungmuseum
.
Cecil Williams and Janice Mirikitani, Summer of Love Trading Cards
Kate Haug/Ivan Urania 2017
Original Photo: The Glide Foundation

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 23,681 other followers

